Running WDS games on Mac OS (or Linux)

Forum for subjects that are not covered in the dedicated forums
Llaird

Running WDS games on Mac OS (or Linux)

Post by Llaird »

I started playing games by John Tiller back in the Talonsoft days even before John's Campaign series (I am sure you remember Battleground:Ardennes) and played games by John ever since. At the time I used Windows, but switched to Mac OS in 2011 or so.
With the switch the question came up how to continue playing Panzer Campaigns, Squad Battles, etc.

At first I used Bootcamp to start my iMac on Windows. This works of course without any problems, but to always change your boot drive is a bit annoying to say the least.

So next came Parallels, a software which enables you to install a virtual computer, on which you then can install a Operating system, like Windows, Linux or even another Mac OS. This works also problem-free, but comes with a downside. First you need next to the Parallels license a paid Windows license and second parallels needs a lot of CPU load. At least in my experience, it's not the most convenient solution if the only thing you want to run on Windows are John's games.

What I then found - and using ever since - is CrossOver. CrossOver by CodeMasters is a so called compatibility layer. In short, it enables you to run Windows stuff on Mac (there's also a CrossOver version for Linux)

In older CrossOver versions there were some minor issues, like non-blinking cursors and such, but in the current version I noticed no problems at all. The games feels like it was a native Mac application.

I created a small PDF guide to show you how to install games on CrossOver and run them on Windows.

The guide can be found here: https://www.icloud.com/iclouddrive/0829 ... cuA#WDSMAC
Note: After clicking the link, just press "download a copy". You DON'T have to sign in or need a iCloud account.
rahamy

Re: Running WDS games on Mac OS (or Linux)

Post by rahamy »

Thanks for the post!
Rich Hamilton