Movement Formations

Forum for the Napoleonic Battles games series
macrlr

Movement Formations

Post by macrlr »

Hello all,

This is my first post on the forum, but I started playing the Napoleonic games with HPS. I am sure this has been brought up before, but I have always wondered:

There are basically 3 movement formations used during this period:

1. Line
2. Movement Column
3. Attack Column

Only two forms are used in the game with Movement and Attack columns "merged". Attack columns were a significant formation used by all the armies (except the British) during this period. Was there any thought given to adding the Attack Column to the games?

Thank you,
rahamy

Re: Movement Formations

Post by rahamy »

Maybe one day...
Rich Hamilton
WDS Operations Manager
LarkinVB

Post by LarkinVB »

Non british infantry has a 25% melee bonus in column. Currently the column is both an attack and move formation.
Christian Hecht

Post by Christian Hecht »

Exactly, just imagine that it is the correct column for the situation.
Général Christian Hecht
Commandant en Chef de la Grande Armée
Comte et Baron de l'Empire

Napoleonic Wargame Club
IainF

Post by IainF »

Ahh, the wargames myth that Column of Divisions was an 'attack' column.